The Force is under the control of the Minister of Justice and is headed by a Commissioner who holds the rank and status of a Deputy Minister. Officers are commissioned by the Crown and are selected from the non-commissioned ranks. The Force has complete jurisdiction in the enforcement of the federal statutes. By arrangement between the federal and provincial governments it enforces the provincial statutes and the Criminal Code in all provinces exclusive of Ontario and Quebec and under special agreement it polices some 119 municipalities. It is the sole police force in the Yukon and Northwest Territories, where it also performs various administrative duties on behalf of certain departments of the Federal Government. It maintains liaison officers in London and Washington and represents Canada in the International Criminal Police Organization which has headquarters in Paris.

Of the Force's 17 divisions, 12 are actively engaged in the work of law enforcement, as are some 40 subdivisions and 638 detachments. The five remaining divisions are "Headquarters", "Depot" and "N", which are maintained as training centres, and "Marine" and "Air", which support the operations of the land divisions. A teletype system links the widespread divisional headquarters with the administrative centre at Ottawa and a network of fixed and mobile radio units operates within the province. Focal point of the Force's criminal identification work is the Headquarters Identification Branch; its services, together with those of the 39 divisional and subdivisional units and the three Crime Detection Laboratories, are available to police forces throughout Canada. The Force operates the Canadian Police College at which Force members and selected representatives of other Canadian and foreign police forces may study the latest advances in the fields of crime prevention and detection.

The uniform strength of the Force at Mar. 31, 1960, was 5,540, at which time it maintained some 1,598 motor vehicles, 16 aircraft, 72 ships and boats, 269 sleigh dogs, 31 police service dogs and 222 horses.

Subsection 2.—Provincial Police Forces*

Quebec Provincial Police Force.—This Force is responsible for upholding law and order over the whole territory of the province, from the provincial boundary between Ontario and Quebec to the Magdalen Islands in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. The Force is composed of about 1,600 men under the orders of a Director, who is responsible to the Attorney General of the province.

To facilitate operations, the territory is divided into two almost equal parts designated as the District of Montreal and the District of Quebec. The Director has his office in Montreal, with a Deputy Director in Quebec City. There is an Assistant to the Director in Montreal and one in Quebec.

Working under the Assistant Directors for the Montreal and Quebec Districts are the following: an Inspector General; an Inspector (Detective Branch); an Inspector (Traffic Branch); and an Inspector (Constabulary). Each of these three sections (Detective, Traffic, Constabulary) is under a captain supported by a number of lieutenants and sergeants.

There are 40 Outpost Detachments in the Montreal District and 18 in the Quebec District.

Ontario Provincial Police.—The Ontario Provincial Police Force is maintained by the Ontario Government and administered by the Attorney-General's Department. It is responsible for law enforcement in the rural and unorganized parts of the province and in certain municipalities by contract. The development of the Force from its beginning in the early years of Confederation to the passing of the Police Act in 1946 is outlined in the 1950 Year Book, pp. 332-333.

^{*} Revised by Geo. A. Shea, O.B.E., Secretary-Treasurer, Canadian Association of Chiefs of Police,